A Booker Prize 40 Years in the Making.

Posted: February 1, 2010 in Hot Book News

From the You Must Be Kidding Me file:

Lost Man Booker Prize longlist to award best omitted novel of 1970

Any of 22 authors, including Iris Murdoch and Joe Orton, could be awarded the coveted Lost Man Booker prize for novels that missed out due to rule changes in 1971

by Sam Jones, from The Guardian.co.uk

” The few seconds between the reading of the shortlist and the tearing open of the prizewinner’s envelope can last a nerve-mangling eternity for even the most garlanded writer. Imagine, then, what it must be like to wait 40 years to discover whether your manuscript has won one of the most prestigious awards in literature.

That is the predicament in which 22 authors – some living, many not – find themselves today as the longlist for the Lost Man Booker prize is announced. ”

Once you’ve finished rolling your eyes, read the rest…

That must be one HUGE envelope if it’s taken 40 years to open. Perhaps they should enlist the services of another stationer. I  hope they also have a good psychic on hand just in case a deceased author wins. Terribly inconvenient if they don’t.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s