Grad School, Fall 2008

Posted: August 27, 2008 in Uncategorized

I hate when I write a long-winded blog post and accidentally delete it. You would have been regaled with the details of my fall semester had this not happened. Now you’ll only have the short form. I’m so sorry. I hope in time the wound will heal.

I’m taking three courses this fall: Intellectual Freedom & the Library, Young Adult Literature and my third course in Reference Services. Three courses sound like a little much, I know. But I took that many last spring and lived to tell the tale. Granted, I still have the dark circles under my eyes. The things I do for my career.

Online courses are easier than classes in a proper classroom. My first semester in the distance learning program of the U of Wisconsin – Madison SLIS required me to travel an hour each way to the satellite location for my classes. Between travel time and actual classroom time that ate up about ten hours a week. Ten hours! With online courses I have most of that time back; commuting time now being moot, I have more time to work on actual coursework. Plus, my children have the joy of my presence at dinner. They’re slowly coming to recognize me again, using photos from before I started grad school to jog their memories. One day maybe they’ll call me Mom again, instead of “that lady who sits where Mom used to sit.”

This fall I’m looking forward to my courses in Intellectual Freedom and Young Adult Literature. For the young adult course I’ll be reading these books:

Catcher in the Rye (the only re-read for me, and I can’t wait to see if I enjoy it as an adult)

Seventeenth Summer

The Outsiders

Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret

Chocolate War

Weetzie Bat

Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist

Courses requiring reading aren’t a chore for me. Neither are courses requiring writing. A lot of people moan in agony at the prospect of writing papers. Not me. Though it’s a pain having to write so formally, citing sources and keeping track of little details, I’ll take that over tests any day. I think I’m in the minority on that.

This fall, my children – my middle son especially – will have a lot of homework. I have a son in elementary school (5th grade), a son in middle school (7th grade) and a daughter starting high school (9th grade). Three children, three different schools, spread out all over town. I’m breathing into a paper bag already.

Grad school. Work. Writing and occasionally reviewing. Living life. It’ll be tight, but when you enjoy everything you do it makes things easier. Someday I’ll look back on this and wonder how on earth I did it all, but right now it’s just a big blur. The MLS degree will give me a true feeling of accomplishment. And that’s worth all the chaos.

Then maybe I can get some sleep. I sure hope so. I’m exhausted already.

Leave a Reply

