Summer reading challenges for border line ADD sufferers

Posted: June 24, 2008 in Library, General

Okay, I’ve signed up for summer reading and not just because I lust after the book bag that’s the final prize for turning in my completed form. I’ve also felt like such a loser not signing up before, especially since I work here.

Now, what the heck do I read? A burning question that’s driving me near madness. I refuse to watch DVDs, count CD books or magazines, all allowable materials that count toward the six total items required to finish. That goes against my grain. Why call it “Summer Reading Program” if you aren’t required to actually read? Sorry, but that irritates me.

I know the point is to get people into the library, partly so they’ll look around in shock and see, “Wow they do have books here!” Dear uninformed patrons, “DUH.”

Six books in eleven weeks. But WHICH SIX BOOKS?!

The practical side of me says I should break out of my literary fiction, bio/auto bio, nonfiction and memoir mold and read popular mysteries, romance and other genre fiction. The vain/uptight part of me would be embarrassed in the worst way to list six romances as the books I’ve read over the summer. You can see my dilemma.

Ah, the heck with it. I’m reading what I want to read. I’ll just read six authors I’ve never read before. That’s counts as breaking out of my mold.

Time to do some serious catalog and soul searching. When I pick number one I’ll let you know how it goes and what I think about it, too. You’re welcome!

If anyone else out there wants to share what you’re reading for your own Summer Reading Programs leave me a comment. If you have suggestions for what I could read I’d love to know those, too. Believe me, I can use all the help I can get.

Leave a Reply

