Interviewing a Poet Laureate

Posted: February 20, 2007 in Uncategorized

interviewcollins.jpg

The down and dirty truth of what my biggest interview to date actually looked like. All the pink Post Its contain questions I feverishly copied out of the Paris Review Interviews, Volume I, the night before I spoke with Billy Collins, U.S. Poet Laureate from 2001 – 2003. I believe in preparation, obviously.

I’ll get the transcription cleaned up and post that here soon. It was all so fascinating it was easy to forget I was supposed to be WRITING ALL THIS DOWN. I did get the majority of it, but the star-struck factor was an obstacle.

N.B.: You’ll also see, in the background, what’s actually an inflatable space shuttle. This was the model for yesterday’s project, which was to make a space shuttle out of styrofoam, as Youngest Child had that due today. In a twist of irony that doesn’t even surprise me, Youngest Child is home sick from school. All that feverish scraping of styrofoam could have been a more leisurely, less frenzied endeavor. But that wouldn’t be life chez moi now, would it?

spaceshuttle.jpg

Leave a Reply

