The Big Easy in May

Posted: February 6, 2007 in Uncategorized

Could it get much c-c-c-colder? I’ve had about enough of this. I’m planning to write my congressman a strongly-worded letter complaining about the excessively cold temperatures. Think that’ll get me on the Homeland Security watchlist (or, bumped up further on the list)?

I saw today that Borders “Rewards” is running a contest to send a lucky soul to New Orleans in May. If you don’t have a Rewards card you can sign up first, then enter. I have a Borders Rewards card. And a rather sizeable credit card bill. Sorry, tangent.

In order to enter the contest you must submit a 150-word love letter to New Orleans. I channeled my combined southern genes and entered, myself. The winner of the contest will get 4 day, 3 night accomodations in The Big Easy, plus the opportunity to help out for a day with Habitat for Humanity, working on a rebuilding project. You’ll also get tickets to a Harry Connick, Jr. concert AND the chance to meet Mr. C. Oh, and they’ll foot the bill for dinner, too. This is what they call in the South, DEE-luxe.

Right now the idea of going anywhere in the South is really appealing, but this trip sounds like a pretty neat experience. Go and enter! And good luck to you. If you win, though, you need to send me a postcard. I may hold a childish grudge against you for beating out my essay, but bring me back a Hurricane and I’ll forgive you all.

Here’s the link for the contest. If this doesn’t work try going to the Borders homepage.

Again, good luck!

(But not TOO good.)

neworleans.jpg

Leave a Reply

