NaNoWriMo… Crossing the finish line!

Posted: November 30, 2006 in NaNoWriMo

nano_2006_winner_large_1.gif

I did it! I finished, with a total of 50,624 words.

Is the novel finished? No, the novel itself isn’t, though I surpassed the 50,000-word goal. I have a good idea where things should go from here, though, and I’m hoping to finish the first draft by the end of January, giving myself the holidays off so I don’t drive myself completely insane.

What a relief, and what a learning experience it was, too. I already had respect for novelists but now I have a better idea how grueling the writing process really is, especially when you’ve never written a novel before. That’s not to mention the revision process, which is a different animal entirely. I already know if I thought 50,000 words was tough, 100,000 or more of the exact right words will make this look like nothing.

But I’m pleased to have met this challenge. Even if it doesn’t ever go any further than having a draft of a novel I at least made it this far, and that’s saying something. And for right now, I’m glad it’s over! Tomorrow is another day, but for today I can bask in the finality of it all.

FINIS.

Leave a Reply

