Black Swan Green Starts Things Off Nicely: An Update on the Booker Project

Posted: August 17, 2006 in Booker Project

blackswangreen.jpg

David Mitchell’s Black Swan Green is a fantastic read thus far. The narrator is a wonderful, funny, intelligent young man and his voice is, as they say, pitch-perfect. There’s an air of mystery/intrigue to the book, in addition to the fabulously intelligent humor. Great stuff.

davidmitchell.jpg

David Mitchell

Kate Grenville’s The Secret River is queued up to read immediately following, then I also have Kiran Desai’s The Inheritance of Loss at the ready.

secretriver.jpginheritanceofloss.jpg

As far as books ordered (which I hope will come in before I complete what I have on hand dear god let it be so!), The Other Side of the Bridge, The Emperor’s Children, Mother’s Milk and The Ruby in Her Navel are supposed to be on their way to me from four different used book sellers. Getting a Life and Gathering the Water are two I’ll be purchasing new. The rest, well, I have interlibrary requests in for several but I really don’t know if those will pan out anytime soon.

But for now, David Mitchell’s book has me completely captivated so I simply don’t much care about all the other details. Oh, but when I’ve finished I’ll be getting fidgety, you may rely on that.

In other news, I’ve received notice this morning my review copy of Susanna Childress’s Jagged With Love will be shipped out to me. This will be my first review for Jacket Magazine. What led me to select the Childress title is the fact the poet Billy Collins lauds her. Seems like enough of a reason for me.

Childress is from the American midwest, Indiana to be precise, and though ready has a list of credentials as long as my arm. Remarkable, and I can’t wait to read her book, and I’m entirely grateful to Jacket Magazine for this wonderful reviewing opportunity. I’m looking forward to a very long relationship with them.

susannachildress.jpg

Susanna Childress

Leave a Reply

