A Game of Tag, Reading Style

Posted: August 1, 2006 in Uncategorized

bloggers.jpg

One thing about book-obsessed bloggers, when we aren’t reading or blogging we very much enjoy sharing lists. We also enjoy passing along any and every book-related quiz or questionnaire we get our hands on.

I was recently “tagged” by a friend who maintains a literary-themed blog of her own, and below are the questions she sent me.

If you have any interest in playing along, consider yourself tagged!

1. One book that changed your life

I think I’ve been influenced more by the combined wisdom contained in all the books I’ve read, rather than by any one specific book, so I’d say one book that broadsided me with its originality and genius would be Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s One Hundred Years of Solitude. I remember finishing that one in a state of shock that anyone could write with such passion, imagination and sheer beauty. Just a breath-taking book.

2. One book that you’ve read more than once

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

3. One book you’d want on a desert island

Bleak House by Charles Dickens

4. One book that made you laugh

Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson. I love his self-depracating humor.

5. One book that made you cry

That’s a difficult one, as that’s not something that happens very often, but I’ll go with Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. Star-crossed lovers get me nearly every time!

6. One book you wish had been written

Just about anything by Margaret Atwood. I’ll go with The Blind Assassin because I think it may be her masterpiece, so far.

7. One book you wish had never been written

So many I’d put in this category! Wow, that’s a tough one. I really can’t name just one title. Look on the bestseller list and you’ll likely find one I’d put here…

8. One book you’re currently reading

Dancing Lessons for the Advanced in Age by Bohumil Hrabal

9. One book you’ve been meaning to read

Anything and everything by Barry Hannah. He’s a fellow Mississippian who’s come highly recommended, yet I can’t seem to get to his books.

Leave a Reply

