You Didn't Hear This Here…

Posted: July 18, 2006 in Uncategorized

nancypearl.jpg

No pointing fingers at me, now, as it was Librarian Extraordinaire Nancy Pearl who came up with the idea.

I don’t think I’ll have to clue anyone in on who she is. In fact, there’s a really good chance at least half of you own the action figure inspired by her. I know I do. I have the DELUXE model (don’t be jealous) complete with library backdrop, desk, computer, book cart and books. I also own both her books but, you may be surprised to know, have actually restrained myself and not bought the accompanying journal. The real reason for that, though, is it’s too small to hold the amount of books I feel the need to write about. Otherwise you can safely bet I’d have the journal, too.

I was tempted to take Nancy on vacation with me back in June, but I resisted. I took Shakespeare and Jane Austen, instead. And I have the photos to prove it. Ms. Austen most unfortunately fainted from heat prostration somewhere between Arches National Park and Grand Canyon, but Mr. Shakespeare is made of sterner stuff. (Just in case you needed to know that, for research purposes.)

But anyway, Nancy Pearl has come up with a list of books that are a good excuse to stay home from work to read. Here’s what she came up with:

Fiction

The Brief History of the Dead by Kevin Brockmeier. Pantheon, 2006.
The Little Friend by Donna Tartt. Vintage, 2002.
The Girls by Lori Lansens. Little, Brown, 2006.
Citizen Vince by Jess Walter. Regan Books, 2005.
Oblivion by Peter Abrahams. William Morrow, 2005.

Nonfiction
A Primate’s Memoir: A Neuroscientist’s Unconventional Life Among the Baboons by Robert Sapolsky. Scribner, 2001.
To Rule the Waves: How the British Navy Shaped the Modern World by Arthur Herman. HarperCollins, 2004.

Young Adult
The Witch’s Boy by Michael Gruber. HarperTempest, 2005.

I have to say, I haven’t read one of these but the Brockmeier’s been on my TBR (To Be Read, which is an acronym you may as well memorize as it’ll be coming up with great regularity here) since the first reviews came out. Ditto the Donna Tartt. She writes southern gothics that have gotten absolute raves, and I do admire a good southern gothic.

I wouldn’t be one to question Nancy Pearl (though I did actually catch a – brace yourselves – MISTAKE in her second Book Lust) so I trust her judgment these would be good titles to stay home and read. Again, not that I advocate playing hooky!

I’m left wondering what my own list would be, if I were of such dubious integrity as to do something SO ENTIRELY WRONG as pretending to be sick in order to read, of course. Will have a think on this and post results soon. If anyone else feels moved to do so, as well, just send me a note and I’ll mention your thoughts, as well.

Until then, thinking caps on!

thinkingcap.jpg

Leave a Reply

